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Constitutional and Statutory Provisions: 
 
Sections: 
 56-23-20. Certain courses exempt. 
 56-23-85. Driver instructor permits required. 
 59-39-320. Rules and regulations of State Board of Education. 
Code of Laws of South Carolina, 1976. 
 
 
 
 
 
Descriptor Code:  IDDE 
 
 
State Board Regulation: 
 
Driver Training 
 
 
A school program shall include the complete program of driver education, classroom 
and behind-the-wheel phases, and it shall be provided each semester on an elective 
basis for eligible students.  Schools organized on grades 9-12 or 10-12 basis shall 
provide this program. 
 
Summer programs of driver education are permissible and recommended but may 
not be substituted for the regular school year program. 
 
 1. The course shall be organized on a semester basis and shall include 

as a minimum 30 classroom hours of instruction in driver education, 6 
hours of actual behind-the-wheel driving, and 6 hours of actual 
observation.  Twelve hours of simulation instruction may replace 3 
hours of behind-the-wheel driving. 

 
 2. Behind-the-wheel driving refers to actual experiences in road 

instruction with the student as the driver with the teacher present. 
 
  Behind-the-wheel instruction shall include the following: 
 
  a. Actual experience in driving a properly marked automobile.  It is 

required that a dual-control automobile be used. 
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  b. A minimum of 6 hours of behind-the-wheel practice driving with 

a certified driving instructor.  Twelve hours of simulation 
instruction may replace 3 hours of behind-the-wheel driving. 

 
 3. The instructional materials shall be selected from the list of state 

adopted instructional materials list for driver education. 
 
 4. Driver education must be offered at a grade level that complies with 

Section 8 of the Highway Safety Act (R-521, Act No. 362 of 1965).  It is 
recommended that the course be offered at the grade level where 
most of the students have or are approaching legal driving age which 
is the ninth grade.  However, the course may be offered in any grade 
9-12.  The course shall be limited to students whose physical and 
mental condition gives reasonable promise of being able to pass the 
requirements of the State Highway Department for a driver’s license. 

 
 5. The teacher must (a) hold a valid South Carolina teacher’s certificate, 

(b) be certified to teach driver education, (c) have completed 
successfully a basic and advanced driver and traffic education 
instructor’s course, (d) have a good personal driving record, (e) hold a 
valid South Carolina driver’s license, and (f) hold a valid behind-the-
wheel instructor permit. 

 
 6. All school districts operating driver education programs must have 

liability insurance as required by State Law.  The Board recommends 
that medical expense insurance be obtained for drivers and 
passengers in an amount to be determined by the school district or 
county. 

 


