STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

Mick Zais 1429 Senate Street
Superintendent Columbia, South Carolina 29201
MEMORANDUM

TO: School District Transportation Supervisors

School District Business Officials
Area and County Transportation Supervisors

FROM: Dennis Meyers, Program Manager
District Services, Office of Transportation

DATE: August 12, 2014

SUBJECT: FY 2014-2015 Contract Transportation Reimbursement Rates

The FY 2014-2015 State Appropriations Act has established a reimbursement rate
of $0.56 per mile for official travel incurred in personal automobiles. The South Carolina
Department of Education’s (SCDE) Office of Transportation will use this rate in
determining the amount school districts will be reimbursed for contract transportation
services in school year 2014-2015.

School districts may apply for approval of contract transportation by completing
an R-55 form (Request for Approval of Contract Vehicles to Transport Students with
Disabilities) for special needs students or an R-60 form (Request for Approval of
Contract Vehicles — Non-Special Needs Contract) for regular students. The SCDE bus
shop supervisor must receive the contract prior to use to qualify for the full 180-day
reimbursement. Contracts received by the SCDE bus shop supervisor after October 15™
can qualify for funds effective ten school days from receipt of the contract by the SCDE
bus shop supervisor or initiation of service, whichever comes last. The total number of
days that transportation services have been delivered prior to this ten-day grace period
will be deducted from the days and the funding amount of the contract requests.

Reimbursement for contract pupil transportation services is based on the
reimbursement rate of $0.56 per mile, up to a maximum of 64 miles per day. Contracts
that exceed 64 miles per day are reimbursed at a flat rate of $35.84 per day for the first
student. Each additional student transported by a contractor qualifies for reimbursement
at a rate of $1.11 per day. SCDE approved contracts with school districts for the purpose
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of transporting students using district-owned buses will be reimbursed at a rate of $1.51
per mile.

Should you or your staff have any questions concerning this information or any
aspects of the school bus transportation program, please contact me at (803) 734-0447.



