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State Board Regulation: 
 
Half-Day Child Development Programs 
 
 
I. LEGISLATION 
 

In order to comply with the South Carolina Education Improvement Act of 
1984 and the Early Childhood Development and Academic Assistance Act of 
1993, school districts may establish and provide for the education of three- 
and four-year-old children who have predicted significant readiness 
deficiencies.  The legislation requires that each district will provide for at 
least a half-day early childhood development program for four-year-old 
children.  Districts have the option of serving three-year-old children. 
 
Each district shall provide at least one program for four-year-old children and 
may serve identified three-year-old children who have significant readiness 
deficiencies. 
 
Districts and schools shall integrate the planning and direction of the half-day 
program with the Early Childhood Initiative. 

 
II. PLAN FOR ENROLLMENT 
 
 A. Public Notification of Program Availability 
 
  School districts shall attempt to contact parents or guardians of 

children who will reach age three or four on or before September 1 
and who have potential for later school failure.  The district shall make 
substantial efforts to publicize the availability of the program for four-
year-olds, and for three-year-olds if appropriate. 
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 B. Criteria for Enrollment 
 
  Each district shall develop criteria for the enrollment of children who 

have predicted significant readiness deficiencies.  These criteria shall 
include the following: 

 
  1. A screening instrument approved by the State Department of 

Education for use in determining each child's developmental 
level, 

 
  2. An entrance age requirement which specifies a child must be 

three if the program serves three-year-olds, or four years of age 
on or before September 1 of the applicable school year, 

 
  3. Legal birth certificate issued by the Department of Health and 

Environmental Control or other appropriate authorized agency, 
 
  4. South Carolina Certificate of Immunization, 
 
  5. Comprehensive Health Appraisal if deemed necessary or 

appropriate. 
 
III. COORDINATION 
 

In the event that a local advisory committee exists in a community to 
coordinate early childhood education and development, school districts shall 
consult with the committee in planning and developing services to make 
maximum use of resources and avoid duplication of effort.  When a local 
advisory committee does not exist, the school district shall identify available 
early childhood development and education resources in order to avoid 
duplication of public services.  This may include Headstart and other Child 
Development Block Grant Programs. 

 
IV. PROGRAM DESCRIPTION 
 
 A. Organization 
 
  A developmental educational program in a classroom setting shall be 

the major component of the program. 
 
 B. Program Length 
 
  The classroom program shall operate five days a week (or the 

equivalent) for at least 2 1/2 hours of instructional time, exclusive of 
breakfast, lunch and transportation. 

 
  Program year will include 190 days of operation for staff (180 days 

service to children) subject to the same conditions for waiver of make-
up days as prescribed by state law. 
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 C. Staff Ratio and Group Size 
 
  Each classroom shall be staffed with one appropriately certified 

teacher and one teaching assistant for a maximum of 20 children per 
each half-day session.  Teaching assistants shall have at least a high 
school diploma or the equivalent. 

 
V. FUNDING  

 

 Child development funds will be allocated on an annual basis effective July 1 

through June 30. Unobligated funds, which become available during the 

fiscal year will be redistributed to serve additional eligible children. 

 

 A. District Allocation and Distribution of Funds 

 

  1. District Allocation  

 

   The State Department of Education will annually calculate each 

district allocation based on the number of kindergarten children 

who are eligible for free and reduced lunch.  

 

  2. Distribution of Funds  

 

   School districts will be authorized to expend allocated funds on 

students meeting the eligibility criteria and being served in 

approved programs.  

 

 B. Extended Day 

 

  Any extension of the child development program beyond 2 1/2 hours 

using funds from other sources such as Chapter 1, Social Services 

Block Grant funds shall be in compliance with regulations and 

guidelines governing the half-day program. Before or after school 

services may be provided by other state or federal programs designed 

for three-and-four-year-olds if consistent with federal regulations for 

eligibility. 

 

 C. Subcontracting 

 

  School districts may contract with appropriate groups and/or agencies 

to provide part or all of the program. In such cases, the school district 

is charged with the responsibility of maintaining compliance with the 

regulations governing this program. An exception to the regulation 

governing indirect costs may be made when state or federal 
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regulations require the subcontractor to utilize an indirect cost rate. 

Subcontracting may be based on a fixed cost rate. 
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 D. Fees  

 

  Eligible children may not be charged fees for the 2 1/2 -hour 

instructional program outlined in these regulations. 
 
VI. FISCAL REQUIREMENTS 
 
 A. Allowable Expenditures 
 
  Expenditures must adhere to definitions and guidelines established by 

the Office of Finance, State Department of Education, or the State 
Procurement Code. 

 
 B. A minimum of 10 percent of the total budget shall be utilized in the 

following categories: 
 
  1. Supplies and Materials 
 
   a. Instructional 
   b. Parent information materials 
   c. Nutritional supplement 
   d. Evaluation materials 
 
  2. Equipment for Instructional Purposes 
 
VII. STAFF DEVELOPMENT 
 
 Appropriate ongoing staff development activities shall be described and 

incorporated in the school or district's comprehensive plan as required by the 
Early Childhood Development and Academic Assistance Act of 1993 (Act 
135), State Board of Education Regulations and guidelines. 

 
VIII. EVALUATION 
 
 Districts shall participate in evaluation efforts coordinated by State 

Department of Education.  This will include tracking child development 
program participants through kindergarten and at least the third grade to 
determine the program's impact on school success. 

 
IX. Additional information relating to the implementation of this regulation, 

including but not limited to: 
 
 1. Educational program 
 2. Reporting requirements 
 3. Staffing 
 4. Health and Safety Standards 
 
 is contained in the "Guidelines for Half-Day Child Development Programs" 

available at the State Department of Education.  The State Board of 
Education will review and update, "Guidelines" as needed. 


